Sunday, September 19, 2010

JMM Bihar elections 2010

JMM chief Shibu Soren on Saturday declared that his political party is ready to contest the Bihar assembly election 2010 next month. As of now The JMM party has decided to fight the bihar elections for 5 districts in bihar. And it will fight the bihar elections 2010 alone without any alliance or tieup.

The tie-up with BJP and JD(U) will remain confined to Jharkhand.

JMM fought Bihar assembly election 2001 but lost every seat. JMM then fielded candidates from 11 seats, including Katihar, Purnia, Banka, Katoria, Chakai and other places. Seeing the party has done well in Jharkhand assembly election earlier this year, the JMM leaders, including deputy chief minister Hemant Soren with his younger brother Basant, have shown interest in contesting Bihar assembly election this time.

JMM leaders are confident to win many assembly seats in Bihar election 2010. "We are getting good response in Bihar. By this time, more than 2,000 applications have been received from several leaders who are seeking JMM tickets. The applications have come from different parts of Bihar, including Chapra and Siwan also. We have yet to decide over it. However, places like Munger, Bhagalpur, Banka, Jhajha are almost finalised," said a senior party leader.